SW lifecycle management
Your individual electronics
always up to date

The requirements for security and data protection are increasing - as are the number of attacks, security gaps and identified risks. You have to face these ever-changing security threats and ensure that your systems can be updated when your devices are connected to the Internet.

This is also required, for example, by the current IEC 62443 standard in the patch management section of the "Industrial Automation Control System Environment". The software lifecycle management from PHYTEC supports you in this. Use our offer for the sustainable and binding maintenance of the board support packages for your customer-specific hardware. We test your hardware with the latest patches and updates throughout the product life cycle. If necessary, you can roll out your software quickly and easily.

 

 

This is how the SLCM concept works _ The continuous maintenance of your product

We develop a customer-specific BSP for your PHYTEC hardware - based on the preliminary work of the standard development. We integrate hardware and BSP into our test farm and the CI system.

Together with you, we will create an update strategy for your product and determine the frequency of the updates. As a rule, we agree annual major updates of the Yocto Project and updates of the LTS kernel version every two years.

At the same time, two BSP statuses are maintained: A current version of your BSP, which we continuously provide with security and bug fixes over an agreed period. And another version in which we continuously update your BSP to the latest development status of the Yocto Project and Linux kernel. A perfect basis for your next stable software release.

With the automatic tests with nightly builds, any conflicts with your BSP are quickly recognized and can be resolved promptly. At the same time, we continuously check the compliance of the BSPs with your specifications. All results are recorded for you in test protocols.

You get access to a current and tested BSP version at any time, without the risks of continuous updates in the field. Routinely or as soon as a relevant security gap is identified, you can test the BSP with your own software applications and deploy it promptly. The RAUC (Robust Auto Update Controller), which is prepared in our BSPs, supports you in this. In addition, we provide you with updates of your BSP with the current kernel and Yocto version in accordance with the agreed strategy.

conditions

The prerequisites for the lifecycle management of the software are the use of a mainline Linux-based BSP and the availability of a BSP specification that covers the entire functionality of the platform. An automated test environment is used with which the complete function of the system can be tested according to the BSP specification. 

The tests primarily include the interfaces, drivers and connections created on the boards. Customer applications are generally not included in the test. The standard tests include "common" interfaces according to the list in the next point. Special interfaces or special protocols can be added individually by expanding the test specification; It may be necessary to create special test hardware for this. For the tests, the Jenkins-based system for continuous integration is linked to the test environment for automatic hardware tests. This makes the setup ideal for the continuous integration of standard board support packages as well as customized BSPs.

Interfaces

  • Ethernet
  • RS-232
  • RS-485
  • CAN
  • USB Host
  • USB OTG as device

System on Module / SoC tests

  • SD inertface w / eMMC
  • SPI inertface w / NOR Flash
  • I2C w / trivial I2C devices
  • RAM
  • CPU: Frequency scaling
  • CPU: stress test
  • Watchdog
  • NAND interface

Hardware control

  • Power-cut reboot
  • Soft reboot
  • Boat tests

A positive side effect of the setup is the clear separation of BSP, middleware and application software, with which the individual layers can be handled individually if necessary, without errors resulting from dependencies that have not been taken into account.

We make it easier to roll out your software in the field by preparing the RAUC (Robust Auto-Update Controller) in all current BSPs. The update client ensures the reliable installation of signed BSP updates on the embedded systems and is supported by Yocto in the meta-rauc layer. BSP updates can be created, checked and modified on the host system using the tool.

We support you both with the implementation of the update mechanisms and with the creation of a corresponding infrastructure - from the RAUC configuration to the setting up of cloud services to protecting the hardware from the installation of malware.

Your contact for your individual software lifecycle management:

Axel Berghoff
Corporate customer acquisition
axel.berghoff@phytec.de
+ 49 (0) 6131 / 9221-32

Benefit from our other offers for your individual electronics:

Topic software lifecycle management _ at the Embedded World 2020

Do you have questions about an embedded topic? Arrange an online meeting now!

 

Within 30 minutes you will learn new solutions for your project.
You can also secure exclusive offers after your conversation.

SW-Lifecycle-Management
Ihre individuelle Elektronik
immer up to date

Die Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Datenschutz steigen – und ebenso die Zahl der Angriffe, Sicherheitslücken und erkannter Risiken. Diesen stets verändernden Sicherheitsbedrohungen müssen Sie sich stellen und die Updatefähigkeit Ihrer Systeme gewährleisten, wenn Ihre Geräte mit dem Internet verbunden sind.

Das fordert beispielsweiße auch die aktuelle IEC 62443 Norm im Abschnitt Patch-Management in der "Industrial Automation Control System Environment". Das Software-Lifecycle-Management von PHYTEC unterstützt Sie dabei. Nutzen Sie unser Angebot für die nachhaltige und verbindliche Pflege der Board-Support-Packages Ihrer kundenspezifischen Hardware. In der gesamten Produktlebenszeit testen wir Ihre Hardware mit den neuesten Patches und Updates. Im Bedarfsfall können Sie Ihre Software so schnell und unkompliziert ausrollen.

 

 

So funktioniert das SLCM-Konzept _ Die kontinuierliche Maintainance Ihres Produkts

Wir entwickeln ein kundenspezifisches BSP für Ihre PHYTEC Hardware – aufbauend auf den Vorleistungen der Standard-Entwicklung. Hardware und BSP integrieren wir in unsere Testfarm und das CI-System.

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen erstellen wir eine Update-Strategie für Ihr Produkt und legen die Häufigkeit der Aktualisierungen fest. In der Regel vereinbaren wir jährliche Major Updates des Yocto Projects und im zweijährigen Rhythmus Updates der LTS Kernel-Version.

Parallel werden zwei BSP-Stände gepflegt: Eine aktuelle Version Ihres BSPs, das wir ständig mit Security und Bug-Fixes über einen vereinbarten Zeitraum versorgen. Und eine weitere Version, bei der wir Ihr BSP kontinuierlich auf den aktuellsten Entwicklungsstand des Yocto Projects und Linux-Kernels bringen. Eine perfekte Basis für Ihr nächstes stabiles Software Release.

Bei den automatischen Tests mit Nightly-Builds werden etwaige Konflikte mit Ihrem BSP schnell erkannt und können zeitnah behoben werden. Gleichzeitig prüfen wir fortwährend die Übereinstimmung der BSPs mit Ihren Spezifikationen. Sämtliche Resultate werden für Sie in Testprotokollen festgehalten.

Sie erhalten zu jedem Zeitpunkt Zugang zu einer aktuellen und getesteten BSP-Version, ohne die Risiken kontinuierlicher Updates im Feld. Routinemäßig oder sobald eine relevante Sicherheitslücke erkannt wird, können Sie das BSP mit Ihren eigenen Software-Applikationen testen und zeitnah ausspielen. Dabei unterstützt Sie der RAUC (Robust Auto Update Controller), der in unseren BSPs vorbereitet ist. Darüber hinaus stellen wir Ihnen gemäß der vereinbarten Strategie Updates Ihres BSPs mit aktueller Kernel- und Yocto-Version zur Verfügung.

Rahmenbedingungen

Voraussetzung für das Lifecycle-Management der Software sind die Verwendung eines Mainline-Linux basierten BSPs und das Vorliegen einer BSP-Spezifikation, die die gesamte Funktionalität der Plattform umfasst. Es wird eine automatisierte Testumgebung verwendet, mit der die komplette Funktion des Systems entsprechend der BSP-Spezifikation geprüft werden kann. 

Die Tests umfassen in erster Linie die auf den Boards angelegten Schnittstellen, Treiber und Verbindungen. Kundenapplikationen werden in der Regel nicht in den Test aufgenommen. Die Standardtests umfassen „gängige“ Schnittstellen entsprechend der im nächsten Punkt folgenden Liste. Besondere Schnittstellen oder spezielle Protokolle können durch Erweiterung der Prüfspezifikation individuell aufgenommen werden; evtl. ist dafür die Erstellung spezieller Testhardware erforderlich. Für die Tests ist das auf Jenkins basierende System für die Continuous Integration mit der Test-Umgebung für automatische Hardware-Tests verknüpft. Damit eignet sich das Setup optimal zur kontinuierlichen Integration von Standard-Board-Support-Packages sowie von kundenspezifisch angepassten BSPs.

Interfaces

  • Ethernet
  • RS-232
  • RS-485
  • CAN
  • USB Host
  • USB OTG as device

System on Module / SoC tests

  • SD inertface w/eMMC
  • SPI inertface w/NOR Flash
  • I2C w/trivial I2C devices
  • RAM
  • CPU: Frequency scaling
  • CPU: stress test
  • Watchdog
  • NAND interface

Hardware control

  • Power-cut reboot
  • Soft reboot
  • Boot tests

Positiver Nebeneffekt des Setups ist die klare Trennung von BSP, Middleware und Applikationssoftware, mit der die einzelnen Schichten im Bedarfsfall individuell behandelt werden können, ohne dass sich Fehler durch nicht berücksichtigte Abhängigkeiten ergeben.

Das Ausrollen Ihrer Software im Feld erleichtern wir durch die Vorbereitung des RAUC (Robust Auto-Update Controllers) in allen aktuellen BSPs. Der Update-Client sorgt für die zuverlässige Installation von signierten BSP-Updates auf den Embedded Systemen und wird von Yocto in der meta-rauc Layer unterstützt. Auf dem Host-System können mittels des Tools BSP-Updates erstellt, geprüft und modifiziert werden.

Wir unterstützen Sie sowohl bei der Implementierung der Updatemechanismen als auch beim Schaffen einer entsprechenden Infrastruktur – von der RAUC-Konfiguration über das Einrichten von Cloud-Services bis hin zum Schutz der Hardware vor dem Aufspielen von Schadsoftware.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für Ihr individuelles SW-Lifecycle-Management:

Axel Berghoff
Stabsstelle Großkunden-Akquise
axel.berghoff@phytec.de
+ 49 (0) 6131/ 9221-32

Profitieren Sie von unseren weiteren Angeboten für Ihre individuelle Elektronik:

Thema Software-Lifecycle-Management _ auf der Embedded World 2020

Sie haben Fragen zu einem Embedded-Thema? Vereinbaren Sie jetzt ein Online-Meeting!

 

Innerhalb von 30 Minuten erfahren Sie neue Lösungswege für Ihr Projekt.
Sichern Sie sich außerdem exklusive Angebote im Anschluss an Ihr Gespräch.